Family Law - Marriage
Marriage License Information
> Obtaining a marriage
> Do I need to make
an appointment to get our marriage license?
> What do I need
to get a marriage license?
> Marriage license
> Application for
a Marriage License
> How long is a
marriage license good for?
> What happens to
the license after the ceremony?
> Can someone from
your office come to our location and perform our ceremony?
> Can we have our
marriage ceremony performed in your office?
> Can we have our
marriage ceremony performed by a Judge in the Courthouse?
> Who do we
contact with more questions?
How do we
obtain a marriage license?
The Recorder's Office is located in the west wing, second floor of the Rood Center,
950 Maidu Avenue Ste 210 in Nevada City. Our normal hours are 8 am until 4 pm.
Come in at any time between those hours and we will assist you
Nevada County's Health Department NO LONGER issues marriage licenses
in Truckee located at the Joseph Center.
Do I need an appointment to get our marriage license?
No. We do not make appointments
for marriage licenses. Simply come into our offices when you are ready. Since it takes some time
for us to process your paperwork,we ask that you be here at least 20-30 minutes before 4pm.
do I need to get a marriage license?
If you are obtaining a PUBLIC marriage license and you are over 18 years of age,
you simply need photo identification. Both the bride and groom must be present when obtaining a.
public marriage license. If the bride or groom are under 18 years of age, please contact the
Probation office at (530) 265-1300 for further information.
If you are obtaining a CONFIDENTIAL marriage license, you must be over 18 years of age and you
simply need photo identification. Both the bride and the groom must also be present when obtaining
a confidential marriage license..
|- MARRIAGE LICENSE TYPES -
|» Not available for public inspection
||» Not available for public inspection
|» License good for 90 days
||» License good for 90 days
|» License can be used throughout the state of California
||» License can be used in the county where purchased
|» Current fee is $72.00
||» Current fee is $74.00
||» Couple must have lived together as husband and wife
Application for a Marriage License
Complete Application at the Recorder's Office.
long is a marriage license good for?
The marriage license is only good for 90 days from the date issued. If not used within 90 days,
a new license must be obtained..
What happens to the license after the ceremony?
After the ceremony, the license is completed by the person performing the ceremony and is returned
to Recorder's office. It is required that the license be returned within 10 days after the ceremony.
Once we receive the license and it is correct, we register the license. At that time, you may purchase
a copy of the license mail, fax, or in person. By mail or fax applications have to be Notarized. The
cost of the certified copy of the license is currently $14.00 if paid in person, $14 if by mail or
$14 plus $7 credit card fee if faxed request to 530-265-9842.
someone from your office come to our location and perform our ceremony?
Yes, but only outside of normal Nevada County business hours. Ceremonies are performed for $90 at your selected
site outside normal business hours. Call 265-1221.
we have our marriage ceremony performed in your office?
Yes. The cost is $40 and is best done before the hour of 11:30am and after 2pm.. After the ceremony, You may purchase a
certified copy of the marriage license for $14.00. For information and/or an appointment, call 265-1221.
we have our marriage ceremony performed by a Judge in the Courthouse?
Yes. A Judge can perform a marriage ceremony at the Courthouse.
Monday through Friday by appointment only. Call (530) 265-1380 for
Please feel free to give us a call with any further questions you
may have regarding your marriage license.
County Recorders Office
950 Maidu Ave, 2nd floor Ste 210
Nevada City, CA 95959